Surviving the Holidays

So many of us write off these two weeks as oh I’ll just give up and start over again come Jan 1st. I to have been guilty of that motto previous years, but not this one!

Some tips for surviving the holiday meals

1.Keep the portion control, a cookie won’t make you fat, and neither will the correct serving size of your favorite holiday meal, just keep it to one serving. Drink water between bites, and sit down and savor the food, don’t gulf it down because you won’t feel full, and will go back for seconds

2. Keep moving, I’m always driving, I hate it so I try to get a run or a walk in a day, with this little munchkin she loves walks… ( who can say no to that face )

But its also not hard to fit in a short workout: check out ToneItUp, ARFIT, Tara Stiles, Blogilaties all on youtube, quick short workouts! and effective!

3. Guzzle down the H20, most of us are all soo dyhrdrated this time of year we mistake thirst for hungry (keeps your skin pretty and lips not chapped too for those holiday parties)

4. Eat normally, don’t starve yourself all day just to eat more at dinner, it’ll slow down your metabolism and all that jazz, don’t skip your meals, especially not breakfast!

Surviving on a Special Diet.

If you are like me, I can’t eat gluten or dairy, it can seem limiting. Every year my boyfriends family hosts a Christmas Eve party, and order chinese food. Some of you might not know how much gluten is hidden in chinese food = no go for me.

But I don’t want to be that weird girl sitting in the corner with my “special food” so my suggestions

1. Bring something everyone will enjoy, its a nice thing to do anyways when you go to a party is to bring a dish, Saturday I hope to bring 3, a salad, main dish, and dessert. I’ve got the salad recipe selected :

Cranberry and Almond Salad

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound (2 large) carrots, peeled and shaved with a vegetable peeler
  • 12 ounces mixed greens
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup Sweet and Spicy Almonds
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon white-wine vinegar
  • 4 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, toss carrots, greens, and half the cranberries and almonds. In a small bowl, whisk vinegar, mustard, and oil.
  2. Drizzle salad with vinaigrette; season with salt and pepper. Toss to combine. Garnish with remaining cranberries and almonds.

Super easy! Now if I only had ideas for a healthier side dessert / main dish, if you have any ideas let me know, course I am going to wait until the last minute to figure it out ahah!

2. Don’t draw attention to it, or get on your soapbox if someone asks they ask, but don’t go around with a loudspeaker about what you are/aren’t eating, just relax and enjoy

Big News: Day after Christmas I’m shipping off to San Francisco, get excited I’ll be posting all about my trip for sure! So excited, and excited to see my big brother as well!

I plan on starting a workout review series too! Crossfit, yoga, Core Barre, Zumba, TRX so let me know if you are interested in any others as well! 🙂

Have the Happiest Holiday Season ever everyone xox, don’t let all your handwork go to waste in these two weeks!

xox

Leave a Reply

