Lets Talk Oil

Growing up and to this day I’ve had skin on the oiler side. I always hated it, with brought on acne and i felt shiny all the time, terrible. Recently however I’ve learned that I will eventually like it. But I’ve been loving a whole different kind of oil.

 

Coconut Oil

I bought a big tub from WholePaycheck a few weeks ago. For those of you who don’t know, usually unless you like in a warmer climate coconut oil is more solid than most oils you find on the shelf. I literally let the tub (closed) sit on the bottom of my hot shower to warm up. After I’m done and towel off I use the oil as my lotion all over. and Oh My GOSH! my skin is so unbelievably soft!

 

Some of the benefits of coconut oil :
 there is 80 of them listed on this site, but here are the top 10!
1.       Moisturizer – simply scoop some out of the jar and apply all over your body, including neck and face.
2.       Eye cream – apply under the eyes to reduce puffiness, bags, and wrinkles. Use on the lids in the evening.
3.       Preshave – coconut oil will prep skin for the pending damage caused by shaving.
4.       Aftershave – coconut oil will help heal your skin after shaving without clogging pores.
5.       Deodorant – coconut oil alone can be used as a deodorant, but even more effective in combination with cornstarch/arrowroot powder and baking soda!
6.       Hair Conditioner/Deep Treatment – use as a leave in hair conditioner by applying a teaspoon of coconut oil to your ends and then running your fingers through your hair to distribute the rest! For a deeper treatment, rub in a tablespoon of coconut oil onto your dry scalp and gently work through to the ends. Put a shower cap on to prevent transfer onto bed linens and leave on overnight.
7.       Hair Gel/Defrizzer – rub a little between your palms and either scrunch into hair (for curly hair) or finger comb in through from scalp to ends (for wavy/straight hair).
8.       Toothpaste – there are numerous recipes out there but I just mix coconut oil and baking soda and dab a little of the mix on my toothbrush.
9.       Make up remover – use a cotton swab and a dab of coconut oil and you would be amazed at how well it works!
10.   Chapstick – just rub a little into lips and it not only acts as a softening agent but it also has an SPF of about 4 so you get a little protection!

 

No idea about many of these until I started looking it up!

However, one of my blogger friends Jennifer over at Every Day Glow turned me onto a whole new idea about oil. It’s called oil pulling. You swish oil in your mouth for 15-20 mins first thing in the morning, just like you would mouth wash.

According to oil swishing enthusiasts, the practice can: 

  • Improve oral hygiene signifcantly by removing bacteria, plaque and gingivitis
  • Brighter, whiter teeth (it’s amazing, I promise!)
  • Improve joint  pain and arthritis
  • Improve/eliminate migraines
  • Improve sinus infections
  • Improve skin conditions, such as eczema, rashes and acnes
  • Improve allergies
  • Improve digestive issues
  • Highly detoxifiying
  • Improve eyesight
  • Improve mental clarity
  • Increase hair growth

 

That is right from Jenn’s site on oil pulling (here) At first I thought she was crazy, but then I looked it up further, stuffs legit! Since I am FINALLLY on my spring break (midterms took over hence why there was no post in a while) I’m going to try it! I’ll report back in a week, at least how my teeth look and continue to report on the other benefits!

 

All in All, don’t be scared of oil! Its got so many benefits, embrace it!

xox

Jenn 

 

Leave a Reply

